Philippines and Good Food Friday: Short Rib Bolognese

The cheap wine probably hasn't helped.
The cheap wine probably hasn’t helped.

When do I get to that point in my life where I really enjoy red wine?? And I mean, like really enjoy it.  I’ve been binge watching Melissa & Joey on Netflix, and the wine that woman goes through. Honestly.  Not to mention Olivia Pope, and the ladies of Cougartown.

Women like their wine.

I mean I like white wine, but apparently that doesn’t count. I just feel like if I could get to the point of loving the reds, a lot of stress in my life would kind of just … disappear.

I think I might just start mixing my Moscato with gradually larger amounts of red and see where that takes me.

I know, I know.  That’s like wine blasphemy or something.

Get over it, I’m young. I gotta figure it out somehow.

Anyway, I’m starting Good Food Fridays today.  I decided to start with this recipe for Tagliatelle Short Rib Bolognese.

Photo Credit: Kevin Lynch from Closet Cooking
Photo Credit: Kevin Lynch from Closet Cooking

I mean look how beautiful that looks.  And bolognese. Bow-la-Naaaaaase. It just coats your tongue and then rolls right off.  You can imagine how extremely excited I was to try this out.  Food, and new recipes really get me going.

even bought a new enamel coated cast iron dutch oven.  It’s a beautiful deep red and I can’t wait to use it for other recipes soon; I’ve been meaning to get one for awhile, but never just went for it.  I thought my first foodie post on Yvette and Joseph would be the perfect opportunity to make the investment.

Right before a 2 and a half hour simmer.
Right before a 2 and a half hour simmer.

This is the only good picture I got of the bolognese before the sun went down.  We don’t have the best lighting in our kitchen at the moment.  It ended up looking just as delicious as the smell the filled that house. (Smell that filled the house… that doesn’t sound too pleasant does it? But I’m deciding to go with it).

I got a simple salad with butter lettuce, cucumbers and cherry tomatoes set up, and a couple pieces of Texas Toast, because how can you really have pasta without garlic bread, and shared dinner with Michael.

And with my first bite, I was a little more than SERIOUSLY…

Disappointed.

WHAT A BUMMER.

I mean, it wasn’t bad.  It was actually pretty good. Really good. Try out it out for yourself.

It’s totally me. There’s something wrong with me.  Lately most everything I have eaten has not made me as satisfied as I expect.  Except for chips, and cheese fries, because let’s be honest, potatoes are what make the world turn.

I honestly thought this short rib bolognese would light up my life at least a little bit, but the only fun I had was cooking it, which I’m not complaining about.  But there is supposed to be more.

I feel like I’m in that spot in life where my taste buds are changing (they do that, right? I’m pretty sure that’s a thing) again and I have to find new foods to get me excited about eating them again.

SO despite the fact that Good Food Friday had to turn into a life lesson about accepting changes in our lives, I think it’s actually a good thing.  This will help me branch out and challenge myself to try different recipes that I probably wouldn’t give a second look, and Good Food Friday will be even more meaningful.

Maybe along the way I’ll start enjoying red wine.

But since today’s post is kind of lacking in the photography department in terms of the food, I’m going to double it up as my Philippines post as well.  I didn’t realize how many photos I didn’t actually take, but I guess I was too busy having fun to really worry about taking that many pictures.

I did end up getting a few good gems, so check them out below.

-R

After a 16 hour flight from Chicago to Manilla, we got about 6 hours of sleep at my cousin's house before we had to head back to the airport at 8am to leave for Boracay for a few days.  Luckily enough! our 10am flight got delayed until almost 4 o'clock, and this is how happy we were about it. :)
After a 16 hour flight from Chicago to Manilla, we got about 6 hours of sleep at my cousin’s house before we had to head back to the airport at 8am to leave for Boracay for a few days. Luckily enough! our 10am flight got delayed until almost 4 o’clock, and this is how happy we were about it. 🙂
Finally making it into Boracay after a million hour delay.
Finally making it into Boracay after a million hour delay.
Michael and Uriel's first tricycle ride
Michael and Uriel’s first tricycle ride
Breakfast on the beach
Breakfast on the beach
The beach outside our hotel.
The beach outside our hotel.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Dad doing a little relaxing after breakfast
Dad doing a little relaxing after breakfast

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The men.
The men.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

